Bright Spots– Because Buttcheeks

Standard

Sometimes, the littlest things can bring true brightness to our lives.  I’ve been chuckling all week about such a moment. 

Up until a few months ago, we were worried our daughter would never talk.  She was always a very expressive baby and toddler, just not very verbal.  I’ve heard this is pretty typical for second children, and she is our second child.  But as a very verbal person, it still freaked me out a bit when she was still way behind where her older brother had been. 

Over the past months, Emily’s language development has really taken off.  She has a sweet voice and dreamy giggle, and we love to hear her little lisp.  While our older son, Jack, started speaking in perfectly articulated sentences, Emily still has baby talk.  Since she is our last child, we are enjoying every moment of it. 

She comes out with some real gems, and it can be a riot to hear her express her innermost thoughts.  One of her favorite words is “buttcheeks.”  Sometimes she will just say it, repeatedly, to herself and crack herself up. 

This week she was watching me get ready for work.  I had put on a pair of grey, leopard print leggings, and was going to wear a sweater dress over them for the sake of modesty.  I hadn’t put the sweater dress on yet, and stood in front of my mirror putting the final touches on my make up.  Em came up to me, circled around me, and started gently petting and patting at my leggings. 

“Do you like Mommy’s leopard leggings, Em?”  I asked her. 

“Yeah,” she cooed.  “I yike deese because dey got buttcheeks in dem.”  She said this in a matter of fact manner as she patted my rump for good measure. 

Well played, Emily.  Well.  Played. 

I’ve shared this little exchange about a dozen times this week.  It struck me funny on a couple of levels.  I mean, come on, what’s not to love about buttcheeks? 

What have your kids done this week to tickle your funny bone? 

6 responses »

  1. Ha! I love this. Here’s L’s gem of the week. I guess technically it’s not his gem, but the way he told it with an utterly straight face killed me. p.s. You wear leopard print leggings? I have a whole new view of you. ; )

    L at dinner, describing how when the principal came into his class last week to visit, one of the students was rude and kept copying her.

    Me: “Really? That’s so fresh! What did she say to him?”
    L: “She said, ‘A., I do not need you copying me.'”
    Me: “What did he say?”
    L: “He said, ‘A., I do not need you copying me.'”

  2. This is lovely – and so glad to hear she is talking and you aren’t worried about it anymore. My two-year-old has now started adopting some of my sayings. The one that makes me giggle at the moment is when she pauses at a door, turns around, and informs me that “she’ll be right back” before she totters off to get her bunny, sippy, whatever. Very thought of her to keep us updated :).

  3. Pingback: When Words Fail Me– Happy Birthday, Daughter | momaste

Leave a Reply

