Snapping Turtle Reality

Standard

You guys.  You aren’t going to believe this!!

Yesterday I posted about my Snapping Turtle Dream.  I stayed home sick.  I have strep throat, but whatever, that isn’t the point of the story.

I had made an appointment to go to the doctor for the obligatory throat culture.  When I dragged my limp, achey body out to my car, what do you think I saw!?


Snapping Turtle had returned!

I’m not sure if it was the same one (Greenie) that we watched lay eggs a couple months ago, but there she was, hunkered down in the earth next to the driveway.

She gave me stern regard as I tiptoed over to get a closer look at her.  I could tell she did not like my proximity, as she started to tuck her leathery neck back into her shell, so I backed up.

I navigated my car cautiously around her.  When I returned from the doctor, she was gone, but there was a fluffy pile of sandy dirt where she had dug in to lay and then bury her eggs.

What do you make of that?

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

