The Scoop On Poop

Standard

It is amazing how focused you suddenly become on poop when you become a parent.  From the moment your baby is born, you count their messy diapers like rare birds, and closely examine the contents for color, size and consistency.  Green, frothy poop= bad!  Mustardy-seedy poop= hoorray!

After having a baby, talking about poop is no longer taboo.

I even had a conversation with a new dad, at brunch no less, about how his newborn’s poop smelled slightly like roses due to the mama exclusively breastfeeding.  (True story, breast milk poops don’t smell as bad as ones from formula, which in my humble opinion is yet another benefit of nursing.)

Today a dear friend/colleague stopped by my office and we had a chat about poop, but not our children’s.  We discussed  our own irritable bowels.

I shared with her about the miracles of fiber, and she shared her fear of colon-rectal cancer.   Closing my office door, she stepped closer to my desk, and we confided in one another about how our intestines often feel tied in knots from the stress of motherhood, work, worrying about money.

You may be shaking your head in disgust, thinking TMI.  Or maybe you already stopped reading and clicked over to a pretty travel/photo blog to cleanse your mental palate.  I wouldn’t blame you.

But something about my conversation with my pal made me feel great.  Relieved, even.  (OK, that was a really shitty pun.  My apologies.  Whoops!  I did “it” again. . .  )

When I was young, I used to bond with other gal-pals talking about raunchy, sexy exploits.  Or make up.  Or a hot new restaurant.  Or lingerie.  Or how amazing those fingers of that new-guitar-player boyfriend were.

Motherhood has changed the subject matter of my conversations.  As a mom, I spend so much of my time and energy talking about my kids, pridefully boasting, expressing my concerns about their well-being or my frustrations with their behavior.  I rarely get a chance to read or go to the movies, so my commentary on current culture is pretty limited to what I hear on NPR during my morning commute.

Often, I simply don’t get a chance to talk to my lady friends at all.  I shy away from talking about myself outside of my role as mother because it seems this all-encompassing identity.

Chatting about twosies felt intimate and self-centered, and reminded me my poop is important too.  I guess maybe this is my 40-something equavilant of “girl talk.”  Or maybe not.  I don’t know.  It was a nice, little moment of connection that rang a bell of mindfulness for me, and made me realize I need to touch base with my friends (and myself) a little more often.

And let’s face it, I love any chance to talk about how fiber therapy has changed my life.  It just feels like my duty to share.

Have you found you talk about different things as a parent?  What are your favorite or most frequent topics of conversation these days?  

12 responses »

  1. Friends of mine have a 13 month old who eats a lot of blueberries. So many blueberries, in fact, that her poo is starting to smell like a big blueberry. A few weeks ago, they boarded a plane and as soon as they sat down, they caught a whiff of blueberry and immediately assumed their little girl had pooed. Turns out, their seat mate was eating a blueberry muffin.

  2. Motherhood has brought along challenges whether it be new discipline ideas or nursing questions. A lot of “uh, is this normal?” And the challenge of finding new healthy ways as well as information to live a healthy life whether it be food, saving money (who doesn’t wanna do that?), alternative medicine to even the products we use both for cleaning household, laundry etc and on ourselves. Trying to switch things up, so everything is fresh and exciting. And on rare occasion, talking about myself which I find myself not sure what to say.

    • Hello! Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a comment. There sure is a lot of “uh is this normal” in motherhood. I must ask myself that 80X per day! So much to think about…

  3. I have a long history talking about poop. A family history of colon cancer, and poop was closely related to my own cancer, and now pregnancy-related pooping problems, and I absolutely can’t wait to talk about the rose-smelling, magnificent poop that my baby will soon be producing.
    Your poop deserves a voice!!

  4. Pingback: Motherhood, Hot Topics, and A Day at the Beach | Grief Happens

Leave a Reply

