Saturday SHOUT Out– The Offensive Playbook

Standard

Do you like to laugh?

Sure you do.  You know you do.  And you know you probably do not do enough of it.  So in honor of laughter, and how important (and sometimes scarce) it is in Mommyland, I invite you to take a peek at the blog I am featuring in today’s Saturday SHOUT Out.

Meet James, from The Offensive Playbook.  The title will tell you a lot about his blog.  He’s a guy who speaks and draws whatever is in his mind.  As someone who generally tries to be PC, and has conniptions if she feels she is offending anyone (I’m actually even a little nervous recommending his blog to you in this shout out in case it is offensive to you!), this sense of abandon intrigues me.

James is a politically un-correct, sweet thing and neighbor of the north, from Canada.  He is an artist and amazingly witty writer.  His posts range from the absurd to non sequitur.

To enjoy his posts, you need a sense of humor and wild irreverence.  Think the Simpsons, Futurarama, or Monty Python.  Some of his posts are not for the weak of heart, as the title of his blog implies, so buckle up and don’t yell at me if you don’t like it.

James and I have only been “following” each other for a short while, but he has proven himself to be an ardent and generous commenter, despite the fact that he is a satyrical writer/comic and I am a mommy blogger.  He usually has something warm or witty to say, and always leaves me with a smile on my face.

My favorite post, Bus Stop Shenanigans , will only take you a moment to scroll through, but if it doesn’t make you laugh. . .  then I don’t know what.  Perhaps it is my own warped sense of humor that draws me back to his blog (no pun intended).  I absolutely love the way he can look at something so totally commonplace and have his imagination take him down the path of hilarity.

I hope you enjoy and get a laugh or two!

 

Saturday SHOUT Out is my way of acknowledging other bloggers and friends who touch my life and make the world a better place. If you would like to be featured in a Saturday SHOUT Out, please let me know in the comments below. It is also encouraged (and good etiquette) that you check out the others featured, and be familiar with the format and vibe of Momaste. Thanks!

5 responses »

  1. Hey Charlotte! Whoa! A Shout-Out! You’re the coolest! 😀

    I emailed my Mom a picture of the raccoon I drew and she said she thought it was “adorable,” so I coloured his eyes, added shading, more detail, then sent her the original for Mothers’ Day. Along with other stuff. It was a hit.

    Who knew? Mothers love little raccoons!

    Thanks! 🙂

    – J

    • I wonder if your dear mum thought that naughty little raccoon was akin to you– silly, mischievous, clever?– hence the fondness? At any rate, I’m glad you liked your shout out. Sorry it was so long in the making. Hope you have a wonderful day.

      • It’s been a good day so far. Got up at a responsible adult time, made coffee, cleaned up for the first time in…well, quite a while.

        Still have a mountain of laundry though. Did a socks and underwear load pretty recently.

        Okay, okay – I’ll wash a few shirts. 🙂

    • Thanks so much! That is the idea! I hope you discover some fun new blogs through the Shout out. They are bloggers I really respect on a lot of levels. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting!

Leave a Reply

