The Flicker

Standard

20140415-093832.jpg

You die in me all the time,
and with all my breath,
I revive you,
ignore the blood on the floor,
(a scarf of scarlet silk),
sit back on my heels, and wait.

The initial ecstasy– a rapid heartbeat
as I hover above my body–
turns to panic, and I wonder,
how can I keep you?
Because surely I can’t let you
slip away again.

Of all the names I call you,
most of them clinical and cool,
no one heard me whisper
the sweet shadowy syllable against
your velvet crown, as we sat there,
in that puddle, you and me.

You die in me all the time,
like a star,
(a brilliant flicker galaxies away),
and I know it will take a million years,
as you steal my breath
over and over.

This post written as part of the WordPress Daily Challenge, Poetry.

Time for Poetry
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/14/poetry/

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

