Coming Soon on Momaste!

Standard

Blogging here at WordPress has been a great experience.  It has not only helped me to put mindfulness into practice, but has also connected me to a network of amazing, supportive, compassionate people.  This connectivity has assisted me in my goal of being more mindful, more open, and more grateful.  It has also helped me with accepting myself, thereby making it more possible for me to accept and love others.

So, I am going to be starting a new feature on Momaste.  I’m calling it “Shout Out Saturday”.  On Saturdays, I will write a post featuring some of my favorite bloggers, or posts that I have found beautiful and influential.  I plan to feature one blog per Saturday.

If you are interested in being featured on my “Saturday Shout Out,” please let me know in the comments below.

If you don’t have a blog, but have been a frequent flyer here at Momaste, you can also be featured!  If you would like to share something about your story, a tip about mindfullness or parenting, write a guest post, or let people know a little bit about where you are from and what you are all about.

Thanks so much for being here and there with me on my journey.  I am astounded daily by you.

Momaste.

36 responses »

    • Hello! Thank you so much for stopping by and helping me find my way over to your blog as well. I am looking forward to seeing more from you now that I am following. Hope you are enjoying the momaste trip as well. xoxo.

    • Thank you so much for checking in! I just checked out your blog and I am in love with it!! I am also a super liberal breast feeding mama, although maybe not quite as green and crunchy as you (I mean that in a loving and admiring way, btw!) Anyway, I’m so glad you dropped by and left a comment and helped me find my way to your lovely blog. I will be so happy to give you a shout out… Stay tuned! xo.

    • You bet, Kelly! Thanks for throwing your hat into the ring! I will be in touch with you to let you know when you are the Saturday Shout Out! As always, thank you for all your kindness, insight and wonderful comment love! xoxo.

  1. Sounds great! I was actually going to ask you if you wanted to be a guest blogger on my blog! If you have room for me, count me in. I can write something about parenting or I could review a parenting book. Just let me know!

    • Yay!! I am so feeling the love after a really hateful day at work. Thank you so much for thinking of me. I would love to guest blog for you, but I think I might have to do a review of a children’s book if that is what you are looking for, since I have like, zero time to read these days… It seems to be either a choice b/w reading or blogging and well, as you can see, I have a lot to say, so, uh. . . yeah. Thank you thank you thank you!! And I would LOVE a review of a parenting book (since, again, I have no time to read and am kind of winging this whole parenting gig… ) xoxoxo!

      • Okay let me think about it for a day or so and I’ll let you know! This is fun! I had a friend of mine guest blog this week and it went really well!

      • I had an amazing guest blog by a friend I made through blogging in France. She did a post for me on breastfeeding in France and the cultural challenges around it. It was really awesome and very descriptive.

      • Hi Momastblog! I have three parenting books I have read and could review. They are books I referred to regularly when my kids were babies and toddlers. They are: 1-2-3 Magic – Effective Discipline for Children 2-12, by Thomas W. Phelan, Ph.D.(We still use this one!); Solve Your Child’s Sleep Problems, by Richard Ferber, M.D.; and The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding, published by La Leche League. I think it would depend on the feel of your blog – the Ferber book is the most controversial of the 3. That would generate a lot of feedback! But I’d totally understand if you didn’t want to have that book on your blog. If you would like me to do one of these, or something else, let me know. I also read and reviewed Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, by Amy Chua (but I did not like the book at all!). Let me know if you have an email you can share. Does WordPress have a direct message feature? I was trying to figure that out. Anyway, thanks!

      • Wow, those all sound like interesting books. If I had my pick, I would probably go with the Womanly Art of Breastfeeding, since that is one of my favorite topics about which to blog, and would fit in very nicely… also, I find as my daughter is getting older, I am not blogging about breastfeeding as much and I miss it! Would love to have an opportunity to feature another breastfeeding related post! As for the Ferber book… I am convinced that I scarred my son for life and gave him crippling anxiety from trying to make him cry it out. . . So, my daughter is 2 and we are still cosleeping! So, I had to lol at that suggestion. Even though it would generate a lot of conversation, I’m not sure it fits in with the “vibe” of Momaste, haha! If you would like to email me, you can do so at cp.momasteblog@gmail.com. Be warned, however, I am horrible at getting back to email, but I will try my hardest!! xoxoxo.

      • No problem I’ll do the breast feeding book and give you a heads up when I have finished and then you can check your email for the file. I nursed all my boys and still miss it! So I will definitely enjoy going back to that time!

      • Hi Charlotte – I just emailed you my review of The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding. Let me know if you like it and want to post it. And if/when you do, I will mention it on my blog and include a link to Momaste! Thanks for this opportunity!

        Barb

      • Looks great! I’ll probably be able to sit down and plug it in later this week/weekend. I already have a Saturday Shout out for this week, so I’m thinking probably next Saturday? Thanks so much! I never read that book so it is great to learn about it!

      • Great and you are welcome as a guest blogger on my Book Club Mom page. If you want to review a children’s book or, if you’re strapped for time you could also do “My Top Five Favorite Children’s Books” or something like that.

    • Oh wow, I am so touched! I will definitely check it out. . . I have to be honest that I am really bad with blog award and tend to get a little overwhelmed and crazy trying to satisfy all the criteria… but I will definitely give you a shout out! xoxo.

      • No pressure! I find linking up to everyone takes an inordinate amount of time! But own the honor!

        Thank you!

    • Of course I have time for you, lady! I just read your recent bday post– happy bday to your little man! For some reason, my WordPress Reader is not allowing me to comment from my phone… boooo! And then other times you don’t show up in my computer news feed… just thought I would let you know. I’m still a dedicated reader!

      • So glad to hear. When I moved to self-hosted, I feel like I lost a lot of my “regulars”. I stopped using WP feed for that very reason…I wasn’t seeing everything. I use Bloglovin’ and like that a lot more.

      • Yeah, I’ve heard good things about it. . . but I’m so resistant to change! It seems like it would take a lot of effort to be blogging at WP and then have to also go over to bloglovin and read.. but I try not to spend too much time on the computer, so maybe I am a bit of a luddite in that way? IDK?

      • Well, I don’t think bloglovin’ has an app for phones yet…at least I’ve looked for one for my kindle, so might not be a good idea if you do a lot of reading on your phone. I think the WP reader is fine when it works!

  2. Pingback: MY Inaugural Saturday SHOUT Out– January 25th 2014, Boof And Monk Monk | momaste

  3. What a neighborly and generous idea! I’m comparatively new at this but would love to be considered. More significantly, I would appreciate your feedback on my blog, Chewing the Cud at isplainasjane.com. Thanks for sharing your gift of writing and insights through your blog!

    • Thank you. I briefly checked out your blog and it looks like you have a lot of interesting stuff going on in your life, which certainly adds to interesting blogging! Thanks for coming aboard here at Momaste. . . it is great to have you! Although I am interested in your theological topics, I have to admit, I am more of a non-practicing-Buddhist-Athiest-Jew in terms of religion, so hopefully that won’t drive you away. I believe that all religions have something to offer, and I am open minded, even though I do not believe in God or take Jesus as my savior. So, that being said, I am interested in recognizing all the things that make us similar to one another, and that we can appreciate in one another without judgement, since judging, shaming or blaming never really get anyone any closer to their goals. . . I am looking forward to getting to know you better, and have added your blog to my list of “followings” in my Reader! xo!

      • That is a really interesting description of a religion. I can see peace, questions and frustrations in it (and a bit of adventure) which is a beautifully authentic expression of faith (as opposed to an institution of religion) from my perspective. I honestly have no agenda in my blog, except to be myself and get better connected to myself and others others through the art of writing and to hopefully be encouragement in a world that is so full of harshness. Right before I read your comment I had just preached on Jesus calling the disciples (telling them he’d make them fishers of people). I’m sure to some of the congregation’s horror, I told them the call was not to “save” but to be in relationship with, to actually be grace to each other and to those in the world without agenda. I see that to be the message of Christ. The way I understand what it means to show grace to one another is the call to appreciate our being human together, authentically without pretense or pressure to perform, and that kind of connectedness has the power to break through any barriers or doctrinal differences. And I agree wholeheartedly with your assessment of judging, blaming, shaming. Sadly, the Christian faith tradition has often been brutally guilty of that, although I suspect we’re all susceptible to that kind of negativity when we misunderstand that being connected to others, especially others who think differently, is a good thing not something to be feared or hated. Thank you for including me in your follows! I look forward to getting to know you better and learning from your insights and having fun in the process. And if you ever “read” me as getting too preachy, hold me accountable! Peace!

Leave a Reply

