If Google Brought You Here For Breastfeeding Info. . .

Standard

Every day, women find my blog using search engines to find information on breastfeeding.  Nipple trauma is a very popular search term, and for that, I am extremely sorry, since in my humble opinion, there is almost nothing worse than nipple trauma!

Other search terms that are popular are cluster feeding and pumping.

If you found my little blog because you are struggling with nursing your little one, please know you are not alone.  Please know that I care.  Please know that I want you to succeed in your nursing relationship.  Please know there are so many supports out there in both real life, and on the internet.

Some women are very fortunate- they latch their newborn onto their breast and don’t skip a beat.  For what seems like the overwhelming majority of us, breastfeeding can require a ton of support.

As of this date, I am nursing an 18 month old toddler.  We have a beautiful nursing relationship and are totally in sync with one another.  This was not always the case.  I struggled for the first 13 weeks of her life with a gaping wound on my right nipple that made me almost psychotic with pain no matter what I did.  But I am so fortunate to have had supports, and so thankful I continued nursing.  I’ve heard it said that you won’t ever regret it if you continue with nursing, but you might regret it if you wean abruptly.  I know this would have been the case for me if I had given up.

Sweet dreamy nursling.

Sweet dreamy nursling.

 

As I did with my elder son, Jack, I will continue to nurse until its natural conclusion, when Emily decides she no longer needs or wants my breast.

I am not an expert on breastfeeding.  I am just a mom.  But I am an expert on my children and on my experiences nourishing them with my breast milk.  I nursed through almost every breastfeeding nightmare and I am more than happy to share my experience, offer support and suggestions to any mom out there who is struggling.  This desire to offer peer support to other moms is part of my mission here on Momasteblog.

Please, dear mother, do not hesitate to comment on my posts.  Let me know what is helpful or unhelpful.  Feel free to ask questions, or email me if you are just in need of some support and a kind word.

keep-calm_latch_on

I believe in breastfeeding with all my heart and soul.  I believe in the amazing ability of a female body to nourish a baby.  And even though we have never met, I believe in you.

Momaste.

7 responses »

  1. Lovely encouragement! We are the experts in our own breastfeeding experience. I feel like I’ve been getting little criticisms or fisheyes online about not weaning yet. I want my son to wean himself when the time is right. Thanks for sharing.

    • And thank you for your comment! My daughter is my last baby and I feel like I will nurse her until she is four if she wants at this point- lol! But I know when the time is right she will stop. I still and will always remember the last time my son nursed when he was 23 months. I personally get really excited when I see toddlers nursing bc i think it should be more normalized in our society!

  2. Wonderful post! Women can always use more support from other breastfeeding mamas, to continue when times get tough! I’m sorry you had such a rough start, btw. Owwwie!! I had that sort of pain during the 3 times I’ve gotten (accidentally) bitten – so not cool. 😦
    Oh! And I wanted you to know that I haven’t been ignoring your posts; for some reason not all of the people I’m following are showing up in my Reader. :/ You’ve got like 5 posts I hadn’t known were written! And the same thing has happened with (at least) a few other friends too. Boo!

    • Thanks for stopping by, and thanks for your comment, dear Val! I know what you mean about the reader… mine has done that a couple times too. I also read a lot on my smart phone, which the app can be kind of wonky on once in a while, because it is hard to sit down and actually turn on a computer some days, so I have to hope that the app is behaving. It also keeps me from commenting as much since my hands start to kill if I text for too long, so don’t think I have been ignoring your posts either! Sometimes I just don’t manage a big comment… Anyhoo, thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I’m glad you liked the post!

  3. Another nice post. I feel like no one shared with me the challenges of breast feeding prior to having my children. If I had this post I would have felt so supported. Good job Mommy hero:)

Leave a Reply

