Thursday Truth- “Don’t Worry About A Thing”

Standard

“This morning I woke up singing “Don’t worry about a thing, cuz every little thing is gonna’ be alright,” in my head. It is a lyric from the song, “Three Little Birds” by the late, great reggae super star, Bob Marley. One of my all time favorite musicians and songs.

When I got in the car to bring Emily to daycare, I plugged in Pandora and on our Laurie Berkner station the song came up! We also got treated to the song “Don’t Worry, Be Happy,” by Bobby McFerrin.

It felt like kismet and made for a happy commute.

It has been a tough week. I’ve had low energy because of a nagging respiratory virus since Mother’s Day. It isn’t a big deal, but it makes balancing work and family pretty draining when physically compromised.

Then yesterday, I got a call that my identity had been stolen. Someone was writing cash advance checks on one of my credit cards. For thousands and thousands of dollars. Plus interest.

The funny thing is, I didn’t really sweat it. I mean, I felt violated, got a little freaked and went down to my branch to make sure that the proper authorities and credit bureaus had been notified. But then the crisis passed and I got on with my life.

I’ve been really trying to live this mindful thing. Part of my rationale for my blog is that it holds me accountable. In some way, it makes me feel more devoted to practicing what I preach.

Some friends of mine at work are reading this wacky book called “The Magic.” This is a book about abundance and gratitude with a bunch of exercises in it that will supposedly cure cancer and make you a millionaire. I was intrigued, but after reading the first couple chapters felt like it was a “result driven, dumbed down CBT/Mindfulness exercise for the sheeple.” That was my blunt way of telling my co-worker that it was not my cup of tea.

I did write a list of ten things for which I am very happy and grateful. Putting my blessings on paper was a valuable exercise. I started saying “thank you” in my mind for every random thing that happened. For example, “Thank you universe that my client is ten minutes late so I can catch up on those progress notes.”

Sometimes I was sincere, but mostly I was pretty sarcastic.

Some of it felt down right ridiculous, but being able to smile about it shifted something in me. Kind of my own version of another slogan, “Fake it till you make it.”

Opening up to gratitude made it easier to sit with my clients and have genuine empathy, and it made it easier to have patience with my family. It also made it easier to get over the little and big trials and tribulations of the week.

I have always been a tense, neurotic worrier. When I get into high anxiety mode about finances or the kids or work, my husband will say, “Will worrying do anything to help the situation? If the answer is no, then why worry?”

I always say this to myself, and I actually say it to some of my clients too, but it wasn’t until this week that I was really able to put it into practice th.

It felt/feels really good to be in a positive head space, despite my head cold. I do not think that telling the stars that “I am eternally grateful for the opportunity to wait in traffic because it means one more NPR piece” will make me a millionaire, and I do not think I will be formally participating in The Magic, but whatever.

“Don’t worry, be happy.”

“Don’t worry about a thing, cuz every little thing is gonna’ be alright!”

20130516-202738.jpg

Why worry?

3 responses »

  1. I love your response to that book! Quite the opposite of surrendering the fruits of action. I appreciate your efforts to be mindful and grateful in every day life. I try but need all the reminders I can get. I hope you feel better.

    • Oh gosh, thanks for saying that Christie! As soon as I published that post, I was like, dude, I shouldn’t have been hatin’ on the Magic. People are going to think I’m a big, huge BEE! Hahah!! Anyhoo, being mindful is definitely a work in progress. If you have a smart phone, you can actually get apps that will send you daily affirmations or reminders to be mindful at random intervals. I have a few that are kind of sweet! Anyway, as always, thanks for stopping by and commenting! You are always welcome to stop here for a moment of mindfulness!

  2. Pingback: Advice Please- Meditation Hesitation | momasteblog

Leave a Reply

