Thursday Truth- Compassion

Standard

20130502-161927.jpg

Some bloggers really inspire me with their prolific blogging, their ability to stick to a blog schedule, and post reliably. For example, check out my friend Valerie over at www.atlantamomofthree.wordpress.com. She does all kinds of cool weekly “specials” such as posting ten thoughts every Tuesday, and hosting a Blog Party every Friday. She is also amazingly diligent about responding to and nominating people for all those wacky blog awards.

So, I am going to try a little experiment on Momasteblog. Starting today, I am going to post every Thursday about something that I have found in my years to be true. This could be a bit of folk wisdom, and inspiring quote, a song, or something else that has rung true to me.

My hope is that this component of my blog will help me to write more regularly, and also to inspire reflection and mindfulness, which is why I started my blog in the first place.

For my first Thursday Truth, I would like to share a quote from His Holiness the Dalai Lama:

“If you want to be happy, practice compassion. If you want others to be happy, practice compassion.”

I’ve found this quote to be true for the simple reason that love begets love, while pain begets pain. When we are able to genuinely show compassion for others, even if it is just a couple times a day, we improve the world.

That said, sometimes being compassionate is really hard for me.

Showing compassion towards other sentient beings can feel so unnatural when I am overtired, overwhelmed, anxious, or irritable. Envy and jealousy also get in my way of being compassionate. This compassion-fatigue happens for me at home and at work. Sometimes it seems like EVERYone wants me to fix something all at once, and I just want to tell everyone to eff-off instead of letting them know that they are important and cared for.

But gosh, if I stop and think about it, it takes the same amount of energy to be angry and frustrated as it does to be compassionate. And at the end of the day, it feels a lot nicer to take the high road. For me, this quote is so true, and I am trying to work on it all the time.

So, there you have it folks, my first Thursday Truth! Yay! Let me know what you think, and feel free to offer some truths of your own. . . Momaste, ya’all!

7 responses »

  1. Don’t forget having compassion for yourself!
    All those other people’s needs won’t pinch or pull anymore if we’ve met our own… Compassion is a truly healing practice.

  2. We are all connected and what we do to one we do to ourselves. Therefore practicing compassion can only have good resultes because it returns to us always.

  3. Pingback: Thursday Truth– Tomorrow and The Wisdom of Scarlett and Mister Rogers | momasteblog

  4. Pingback: Thursday Truth: The Secret to Happiness | momasteblog

  5. Pingback: I Choose You | momasteblog

Leave a Reply

